Ciao a tutti!!

Mi chiamo Caitlyn e sono una studentessa di francese e italiano all’università di glasgow. This year I am living abroad in Italy for one academic year teaching students in an Italian liceo. I live in a small town called Priverno, which is around one hour from Rome by train. It is molto facile for me to get to Rome, so I often spend my weekends there. For my first post, I wanted to give a small introduction to the beautiful city Rome.

This is a picture that my friend drew of me… so you will know where I am in Italy!

Rome

As most of you will already know, Rome is a grande città and la capitale of Italy with almost 3 million people living there. It is very well known for a number of things, for instance its food! When visiting Rome, I always make sure to have dinner here. Usually I enjoy having pasta and my favourite pasta to order here is Carbonara, a typical Roman dish. It is made with eggs, pepper and guanciale (pork). It is a bit different to the one we have back home, as Italians don’t put cream in this dish. Actually cream in this pasta is considered a crime here so don’t expect to have it like that when visiting Rome.

Of course I have also had pizza here which is molto delizioso! Roman pizza is typically known for its thin and crunchy crust, and also its dough.

this is a Roman pizza with prosciutto e funghi

Although this pizza is good, I will admit that I prefer pizza from Naples which has a softer dough-ier crust. But luckily in Rome, both pizza options are available!

Here is a Neapolitan pizza I had whilst in Rome – it is a classic margherita

Another great thing about Rome is all of the historical sights. I have quite a lot of sights now, some of which include:

The colosseum (il colosseo) which is probably one the most famous sights in Rome known for its rich history
This is the Chiesa di Sant’ Ignazio di Loyola a very beautiful church close to The Pantheon (another fantastic sight to see)

But my favourite sight of all is The Trevi Fountain (La Fontana di Trevi) which is by far the most beautiful sight to visit. È una tradizione molto famosa to throw a coin into the fountain whilst closing your eyes. Legend says that the person who throws the coin will tornare a roma one day. The fountain is an extremely busy attraction, so I would recommend you visit it at night. In my opinion it is prettier when it is dark, as the fountain is all lit up which makes it even more beautiful. It is also known to be a very romantic place. In fact, on my first visit to Rome, I witnessed a couple get engaged!

Here is The Trevi Fountain in all it’s glory!!

I still have a lot more to uncover about Rome and Italy in general, but this was just a little taste of it! If you have any questions, please ask me!!

25 thoughts on “Ciao a tutti!!

  1. How are u today, I really admire your post I am now more convinced to go to Italy, also did you see a blonde guy called giorno by any chance?

    Like

    1. Hi,

      Thank you so much for your kind comment!! No, I can’t say that I have met anyone going by this description!

      Like

    1. Hello!

      Yes I miss my family a lot. It was nice to see them when I went home for Christmas. They are also planning to visit me in Italy 🙂

      Like

    1. Hi!

      The warmest day I’ve ever experienced in Italy was actually halloween! It was 26 degrees. I have red hair and pale skin so it was difficult for me to be outside that day!

      Like

  2. This sounds a beautiful experience! I can’t wait to one day visit the wonderful city of Rome! I want to see the amazing sights and visit the colosseum! YOUR BLOG HAS CHANGED MY LIFE!

    Like

    1. Good morning!!

      Thank you for your kind comment! I hope you can go to Italy in the near future. It really is amazing.

      Like

    1. Hi!

      The most interesting thing I have learned about the culture here is probably how serious the Italians are about about food and certain meals, especially lunch. It is treated as a very important part in the day and the families come together for it.

      Like

    1. Hello

      Yes there definitely was! The biggest one for me is that everything in most towns (supermarkets, cafes restaurants etc) closes at 1pm and re opens at 4pm! This was difficult for me to get used to as I would normally do my shopping in Scotland at 2pm

      Like

    1. Good morning!

      I would definitely like to visit the Vatican! I think it would be very interesting, and the inside would be beautiful. I have plans to visit there with my family when they come to visit me in April

      Like

    1. Hello,

      The most exciting thing about living in Italy is the food!! I love Italian food, so going out for dinner is one of my favourite things to do.

      Like

  3. I would love to hear more about Italy, it seems so fascinating!! How is the daily life there? How are the locals?

    Like

    1. Hi,

      Yes Italy is definitely a fascinating place! The locals are all very kind people who try to help you as much as possible!! I will be posting a blog soon about daily life here… so keep your eyes peeled!!

      Like

    1. Good morning,

      Yes I have experienced quite a few! One of them is how late people eat dinner here! In Scotland, I would usually have dinner at 5/6pm… Whereas in Italy people have dinner around 9/10pm. I am often hungry at 7pm but I am trying to get used to the way of living here!!

      Like

    1. Hii,

      That is a VERY difficult question to answer. I think it is probably carbonara! It is the perfect dish, and I would recommend it to you if you ever decide to go to Italy. (Italians do it differently to British people)

      Like

Leave a comment